In Heaven,
Underground

The Jewish Cemetery Berlin Weissensee

Im Himmel unter der Erde (c) Amelie Losier Britzka Film
Im Himmel unter der Erde (c) Amelie Losier Britzka Film

Story

Tucked away in the north of Berlin, surrounded by walls and hidden beneath a primeval forest of trees, rhododendrons and ivy - this is the Weissensee Jewish Cemetery. It was created in 1880, is about 100 acres in size, currently contains 115,000 graves and is still used for burials today. Neither the cemetery nor its archives have ever been destroyed, making it a paradise for gatherers of stories. 

During their many visits to the cemetery, Britta Wauer and her cameraman Kaspar Köpke discovered a place overflowing with life, visited by people from all ends of the world who bring with them tales of the Jewish, Berlin and German history which embody this site.

Accolades

"Poetic and exquisite."

NEW YORK TIMES

"In Heaven, Underground is a delightfully upbeat look at death."

THIS WEEK IN NEW YORK

"Stunning...a film that is inspiring, heartfelt, soulful."

JEWAICIOUS

"A cemetery film that couldn't be livelier. Sad and funny."

DER TAGESSPIEGEL

"It's a wondrous, captivating and genuinely heartfelt documentary."

NYC MOVIE GURU

"A funny, sad and wise work."

BERLINER MORGENPOST

"Stunning... gorgeously photographed."

PASTE MAGAZINE

Protagonists

Rabbi William Wolff

was born in 1927 in Berlin. In 1933 he and his family moved to Amsterdam and six years later on to London. Even as a child in Berlin, at the age of four or five years, he dreamed of becoming a rabbi - a wish even his teenage self couldn't part with. However, as he had neither the money nor the security to finance such an outlandish career path, he chose to begin work as a journalist after finishing school in order to earn some money quickly. In 1984 he was finally ordained as a rabbi. In April 2002 he took up the position of State Rabbi for Mecklenburg-Vorpommern - a seat which had been empty for 65 years. He has cared for the three Jewish Communities in Schwerin, Rostock and Wismar, which together make up around 2,000 members, ever since. He still lives near London and commutes to and from his various places of work. 

Harry Kindermann

was brought into the world in 1927. Although his parents had migrated to Palestine in 1924, they returned to Berlin at the wish of Harry's grandfather - a German patriot - that his grandchildren be raised in Germany. It was also his grandfather who landed Harry's young father a job as a bricklayer at the Weissensee Jewish Cemetery, where he soon earned a decent income as Chief of the Foundation Construction Department. In Harry's own words, he was "practically raised in the cemetery", as his father often brought him along to play in the grounds.  In 1939 at 12 years old, his father even taught him how to drive in the cemetery. When the Jewish schools in Germany were closed, 14-year-old Harry was conscripted to the Weissensee cemetery. It was there that he fell in love with his schoolmate Marion Ehrlich, who was deported in Autumn of 1942 and later murdered in Auschwitz. Even his grandfather, who wore the iron cross, and his grandmother were deported and murdered. Harry Kindermann survived World War II as a forced laborer in a gang which built underground bunkers under the orders of Adolf Eichmann. After the liberation he worked among other things as construction manager for the firm Philipp Holzmann. He married in 1950 and named his daughter after his first love, Marion.  When an anti-semitic hate-campaign began in Moscow in February 1953, Harry Kindermann fled with his wife and daughter out of East-Berlin. He moved to Ludwigshafen on the Rhein, where he still lives today. 

Benny Epstein

was born in 1933 in Berlin. As his father was a Hungarian Jew, the family was forced to leave Berlin suddenly in 1939 within 24 hours' notice. They moved to Budapest. In 1943 his father was conscripted to the Russian Front for compulsory labour, from where he never returned. Benny, his mother and young sister, born in 1938, survived in Budapest. After the war, the family moved, via Romania and Switzerland, to Palestine, which at this time was becoming part of Israel.  In August 1953, Benny Epstein began working for a bank in Tel Aviv. In December 1958 he emigrated to the USA, where he married his wife Zohara four years later. He lived in New York for almost 30 years, working in different banks. In 1978 he opened his own independent travel organisation and moved to South Florida in 1987. His eldest son lives with his family in Atlanta. His youngest son was murdered in 1996 in Houston, Texas. It wasn't until 2008 that he visited the Weissensee Cemetery for the first time, where his grandmother Helene Epstein is buried. 

Daniel Hakerem

was born in 1951 in Haifa, Israel. As the son of a German immigrant he had a "typically German" upbringing. His mother tongue is German; he first began learning Hebrew at school. As an eight-year-old in 1959 he he visited his grandmother in Berlin for the first time, who had survived the Nazi Era there with her husband and the help of a few friends. On this trip, Daniel Hakerem was also introduced to the Weissensee Cemetery, whose huge trees left a lasting impression on him. His grandmother, Anna Katz, died in 1969 in West-Berlin and was buried in Weissensee next to her husband Alexander. In 1974 Daniel and his wife Jochi moved to Germany, where he studied Medicine in Marburg (Lahn). His two daughters, Nurit and Efrat, were born there. After completing his medical training, Daniel Hakerem and his family returned to Israel, where he still works as a doctor today. 

Gabriella Naidu

was born in 1950 in Sorento Lugano, where she grew up with her three brothers. Her father was an Italian shoe-designer, her mother a foreign language correspondent. In 1960 the family moved to Zürich, where Gabrielle Naidu later completed an apprenticeship as a teacher of manual labour, a profession she pursued ever since. Her great-grandfather Adolf Schwabacher, director of the Berlin stock exchange towards the end of the 19th Century, had a handsome gravestone built under the engraving 'Number 222' for himself and his family in Weissensee. No-one from the family knew of the grave until Gabrielle Naidu discovered it, still unscathed, only a few years ago. In the spring of 2011 it was restored at the wish of Gabriella's uncle.

Background

The Jewish Cemetery in Berlin-Weissensee

On the map it looks like a garden from the Renaissance: a tessellation of right-angles, trapeziums and triangles. The overlapping alleys form circles and squares. Those who tread through the grounds feel as though they’re in an enchanted place. Dew and mist, tall trees, thicket forest, in amongst it all handsome columns, stones, mausoleums, ivy, lilac and just to the right, a little fox: the Jewish Cemetery in Weissensee.

read more…

It was the third cemetery to be constructed by the Jewish Community in Berlin. At almost 130 years old, it is the biggest Jewish cemetery in Europe still in use and could quite comfortably hold about 86 football fields. Walking through the cemetery grounds is like strolling through a history book. The list of famous artists, philosophers, barristers, architects, doctors, religious instructors and publishers buried there, is lengthy. The founders of two renowned German department stores, Jandorf (KaDeWe) and Hermann Tietz (Hertie), are amongst other names such as the painter Lesser Ury, the hotelier Kempinski, the publisher Samuel Fischer (S.Fischer Publishers) and Rudolf Mosse, to whom Europe’s once biggest publishing house belonged.

The first to be buried was in fact not a celebrity, but Louis Grünbaum, a nursing home resident, on September 22nd 1880. A large “1” is engraved on the side of his gravestone. The fact that his gravestone remains erected is symbolic of the tradition that Jewish cemeteries are built for eternity. The graves are not levelled and there is no time limit for the burial. All graves in Weissensee are numbered consecutively; the most recent grave numbers are six-figured.

More than 115,000 people are buried in the Weissensee Cemetery. Simple gravestones lie embedded between splendid mausoleums from the Art Nouveau or Art Deco styles. A few gravestones were designed by architects Mies van der Rohe and Walter Gropius. Some engravings seem quirky, many are touching, others are impressive by their sheer monumentality. However wide the budget disparity between the graves must once have been, the state of the graves today couldn’t be more equal - crumbled, overgrown, forgotten. Hardly a sliver of summer light seeps through the dense treetops onto the graves. Some pathways are so overgrown, they seem to have been devoid of grave-visitors for years.

There are few relatives left who can care for the graves. The Holocaust not only obliterated the lives of millions, it also robbed them of their memorial. In the 1930s there were around 170,000 Jews living in Berlin; after the war only round 1,500 remained.

Most intriguingly: Weissensee was never closed. The cemetery belonged to the handful of Jewish institutions in Germany which, even during the Nazi era, remained self-managed by Jews. Jewish children would play in Weissensee when the German streets became too dangerous for them. There they would feast on plums and apricots from wild fruit trees. Some Jews spent a night or two hidden in freshly dug graves or in the capital of a gravestone, concealed from their pursuers. Between 1933 and 1945, in the time of Rabbi Riesenberger, burials were still carried out regularly - all to Jewish custom, except for one detail: that Riesenberger and his remaining staff were the only ones permitted to carry the coffin to the grave.

The story of the Jews of Berlin is written on the graves. Some stones, where the deaths of both parents and their children are marked with the same date, whisper of suicide. On other graves, empty space was reserved for the names of people who could never be buried there. Sometimes more of the story is revealed by the occasional family grave, offering the words “In Memory of…”

Set in the outskirts of the the capital city of the GDR, the cemetery sank further and further into oblivion after the war. The small East-Berlin community couldn’t keep up with the ever-growing forest in Weissensee. In their despair, the cemetery management decided to hand over the biggest part of the cemetery to nature, in order to save energy and resources for at least a few token lots at the entrance, where burials would still take place. Since the German Unification the cemetery staff have been trying, one by one, to reclaim the lots.

Today, the Jewish Community in Berlin, with over 12,000 members, is the biggest Jewish community in Germany. According to the American Jewish Community, it is also currently the fastest-growing Jewish community in the world. This is due to the immigration of Russian Jews in the last few years. Currently 80% of the community members are Jews who emigrated from the former Soviet Republics. The customs and traditions of the families, brought with them from their old home, create the youngest and most intriguing chapter of Weissensee.

What is buried in the cemetery is not just Jewish History, but also in its essence the history of Berlin and Germany altogether, a story which is by no means complete.

Director's Comments

To do justice to the fates of more than 115,000 departed souls and their relatives in one film was a challenge to say the least. It is impossible to be comprehensive. A list of famous names, a resumé of lifetime achievements or the tales sad deaths do not make for an interesting film. Yet the Weissensee cemetery has earned this.

read more…

Rather than graves, ivy and gravel, it should be people who fill the screen, telling the intricate tales of the lives that were once led in Berlin. For me, it's about personal connections. The idea was to pursue a small handful of fates, letting the characters who were personally connected to the dead tell the story. People with memories, feelings and thoughts are crucial. They should play the main role in the film and make conceivable to the viewer what is precious about Weissensee.

Naturally, the era of Nazi dictatorship overshadows all other events. But the film shouldn't restrict itself to recounting tragedies from those years. To reduce the dead of Weissensee to their sad ends would be wrong. Many of the buried accomplished extraordinary things, achieved something special or experienced something curious. The film also intends to portray funny, absurd and thoughtful moments, and of a great love – one without a happy ending.

Shop

Book

In her research of the Weissensee Cemetery, Britta Wauer came into contact with numerous relatives of the buried, who came from all over the world. Hundreds of letters from New Zealand, Canada, Argentina, South Africa, Israel and many other countries found their way to her, stuffed with family photos and moving personal histories. Only a fraction of those were able to fit into the film. And so the idea of the book came about, which documents over 70 stories. The pictures depict historic photographs from archives and private possession, juxtaposed with new, modern shots by photographer Amélie Losier.  

Britta Wauer: 
The Weissensee Jewish Cemetery. 
Moments in History 
with photographs by Amélie Losier
and an epilogue by Hermann Simon

Over 140 photos,
with written text in German and English
published by: be.bra Berlin

24,95 EUR
available for purchase:
» amazon.de 
» bebra.verlag.de

In Heaven, Underground. DVD-Cover © Britzka Film

DVD

IN HEAVEN, UNDERGROUND
The Weissensee Jewish Cemetery

available for purchase at:
amazon.co.uk
 amazon.de 
 delicatessen.org
 jpc.de

MORE

with English subtitles

A film by: Britta Wauer

Duration: 90 min
Language: German
Subtitles: English
Extras: Booklet, audio-description for the visually impaired
Edition Salzgeber
FSK: approved for 6+ years

DVD

NEW: RABBI WOLFF:
A Gentleman before God
starring  audience favourite
from  In Heaven, Underground

available for purchase at:
amazon.co.uk
 amazon.de 
 delicatessen.org

MORE

The new film by Britta Wauer with Rabbi William Wolff portrays 
the turbulent daily routine of audience favourite from
"In Heaven, Underground"
with English and Russian subtitles

 
A film by Britta Wauer
Duration: 91 min + bonus material
Language: German/English
Subtitles: English, Russian, German for the hearing-impaired
Extras: Booklet, Audio-Description for the visually impaired, Deleted Scenes, Cinema Trailer
Edition Salzgeber
FSK: approved for 0+ years


In Heaven, Underground. CD-Cover © Britzka Film

CD

Original Soundtrack 
"IN HEAVEN, UNDERGROUND"
composed by Karim Sebastian Elias

MORE

The soundtrack by Karim Sebastian Elias,
performed by the Brandenburg State Orchestra Frankfurt & led by Jörg Iwer,
is available at Alhambra Records

currently not available
 amazon.de 

Contact

Germany

Edition Salzgeber
Prinzessinnenstraße 29
10969 Berlin
Germany

salzgeber.de

USA

7th Art Releasing
6579 Pickwick Street
Los Angeles, CA 90042
USA

7thart.com

Producer

Britzka Film - Britta Wauer
Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 30
10178 Berlin
Germany

britzka.com

Credits

Credits

IN HEAVEN, UNDERGROUND
with Rabbi William Wolff, Harry Kindermann, Ron Kohls, Gabriella Naidu, Reinhard Männe, the Pobbig-Schulz family, Hermann Simon, Alfred Etzold, Benny Epstein, Daniel Hakerem, Ronnie Golz, Michaela Panske, Gesine Sturm, Leb Tabachnik and others

Author and Director: Britta Wauer
Cameraman: Kaspar Köpke
Montage: Berthold Baule
Sound: Felix Heibges, Garip Özdem
Sound design: Sebastian Tesch
Mixing: Martin Grube
Music composition: Karim Sebastian Elias
Music performed by: Brandenburg State Orchestra; Frankfurt
Directorial assistance, film management: Jana Westmann
Still photography : Amélie Losier
Editorial: Dagmar Mielke (RBB/ARTE), Birgit Mehler (RBB), Hans-Günther Brüske (SR)
Production management RBB: Rainer Baumert
Line producer: Karsten Aurich
Producer: Britta Wauer

a co-production by Britzka Film
with Radio Berlin Brandenburg and Radio Saarland 
in collaboration with Arte

Supported by
Neue Synagoge Foundation Berlin - Centrum Judcaicum
Familie-Guter-Molvidson Foundation
Ursula-Lachnit-Fixson Foundation

Production funded by Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg
and the German Federal Film Fund

Publishing House: Edition Salzgeber

Imprint

Imprint

Britzka Film - Britta Wauer Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße 30 10178 Berlin – Germany
Finance Office Mitte-Tiergarten von Berlin USt-ID DE 240097612
T: +49.30.247 245 24 E: film@britzka.de www.britzka.de
Web creation and content according to § 6 MDStV: Britta Wauer

Copyright
© Britzka Film,all rights reserved, text, pictures, graphics, sound, animations and videos are protected by copyright and other protective laws.

Disclaimer
The authors assume no guarantee for the actuality, correctness, completeness or quality of the provided information.The author expressly retains the right to modify, enlarge or delete portions of the webpages or the entire offering without special notice to this effect or to temporarily or definitively terminate the publication. Despite thorough editorial scrutiny, we are not liable for the content of external links. The content of linked pages is the exclusive responsibility of their operators.

Im Himmel,
unter der Erde

Der Jüdische Friedhof Berlin Weissensee

Im Himmel unter der Erde (c) Amelie Losier Britzka Film
Im Himmel unter der Erde (c) Amelie Losier Britzka Film

Inhalt

Im Norden der Stadt, versteckt in einem Wohngebiet, umgeben von Mauern und bedeckt von einem Urwald aus Bäumen, Rhododendron und Efeu liegt der Jüdische Friedhof Berlin-Weißensee. Er wurde 1880 angelegt, ist 42 Hektar groß, hat derzeit 115.000 Grabstellen und immer noch wird auf ihm bestattet. Weder der Friedhof noch sein Archiv sind je zerstört worden – ein Paradies für Geschichten-Sammler.

Britta Wauer und ihr Kameramann Kaspar Köpke waren immer wieder auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof und haben einen höchst lebendigen Ort vorgefunden. Menschen aus aller Welt kommen dort hin und können von jüdischer, Berliner und zugleich deutscher Geschichte erzählen, von der dieser Ort erfüllt ist.

Kritik

„Der schönste Film, der je über einen Friedhof gedreht wurde!“

CINEMA

„Ein Dokumentarfilm voller einfühlsamer Gespräche,
verblüffender Rückblenden und unbeschwerter Musik.
Aus einem toten Ort wird ein Garten.
Zum Trauern, Erinnern und Glücklichsein.“

KULTURSPIEGEL

„Poetic and exquisite.“

NEW YORK TIMES

„Ein Friedhofsfilm, wie er lebendiger nicht sein kann.“

DER TAGESSPIEGEL

„Ein großartiges Filmkleinod, zum Lachen und Weinen. Hinreißend!“

B.Z.

„Ein lustiges, trauriges und weises Werk.“

BERLINER MORGENPOST

Protagonisten

Rabbiner William Wolff

wurde 1927 in Berlin geboren. 1933 zog er mit seinen Eltern und Geschwistern nach Amsterdam und von dort sechs Jahre später nach London. Schon in Berlin, im Alter von vier, fünf Jahren, wollte er Rabbiner werden. Weil später weder das Geld noch die Sicherheit da waren, um ihm ein ausgefallenes Studium (Rabbinerseminar!) zu finanzieren, entschied er sich nach der Schule für den Beruf des Journalisten, mit dem er sofort Geld verdienen konnte. Erst 1984 erhielt er die rabbinische Ordination. Im April 2002 übernahm er das seit 65 Jahren verwaiste Amt des Landesrabbiners von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Seitdem betreut er die drei jüdischen Gemeinden in Schwerin, Rostock und Wismar mit insgesamt fast 2.000 Mitgliedern. Er lebt noch immer in der Nähe von London und pendelt zwischen seinen Einsatzorten. 

Harry Kindermann

kam 1927 in Berlin zur Welt. Seine Eltern waren zwar 1924 nach Palästina ausgewandert, kamen aber zurück nach Berlin, weil der Großvater – ein deutscher Patriot – verlangte, dass sein Enkel in Deutschland aufwachsen müsse. Der Großvater war es auch, der dem jungen Vater eine Stelle als Maurer auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof Weißensee verschaffte, wo er als Chef der Fundamentebauabteilung bald ein gutes Einkommen erzielte. Weil Harrys Vater seinen Sohn zum Spielen oft mit auf den Friedhof nahm, sagt Harry Kindermann von sich, dass er „praktisch auf dem Friedhof groß geworden“ sei. 1939, mit zwölf Jahren brachte ihm der Vater auf dem Friedhofsgelände sogar das Autofahren bei. Nach der Schließung der jüdischen Schulen in Deutschland wurde der vierzehnjährige Harry auf den jüdischen Friedhof zwangsverpflichtet. Er verliebte sich dort in seine Mitschülerin Marion Ehrlich, die im Herbst 1942 deportiert und später in Auschwitz ermordet wurde. Auch sein Großvater, Träger des Eisernen Kreuzes, und die Großmutter wurden deportiert und ermordet. Harry Kindermann überlebte den Zweiten Weltkrieg als Zwangsarbeiter in einem Bautrupp, der im Auftrag von Adolf Eichmann Tiefbunker baute. Nach der Befreiung arbeite er unter anderem als Bauleiter für die Firma Philipp Holzmann. Er heiratete 1950 und nannte seine Tochter nach seiner ersten großen Liebe „Marion“. Als von Moskau aus im Februar 1953 eine antisemitische Hetzkampagne startete, flüchtete Harry Kindermann mit Frau und Kind aus Ost-Berlin. Er zog nach Ludwigshafen am Rhein, wo er bis heute lebt.

Benny Epstein

wurde 1933 in Berlin geboren. Weil sein Vater ungarischer Jude war, musste die Familie 1939 innerhalb von 24 Stunden Berlin verlassen. Sie zog nach Budapest. 1943 wurde der Vater zur Zwangsarbeit an die Russische Front verpflichtet und kam nicht mehr zurück. Benny, seine Mutter und die 1938 geborene Schwester überlebten in Budapest. Nach Kriegsende zogen sie über Rumänien und die Schweiz nach Palästina, das zu diesem Zeitpunkt Israel wurde. Im August 1953 begann Benny Epstein für eine Bank in Tel Aviv zu arbeiten. Im Dezember 1958 emigrierte er in die USA, wo er vier Jahre später seine Frau Zohara heiratete. Er lebte fast 30 Jahre in New York und arbeitete für verschiedene Banken. 1978 machte er sich als Reiseunternehmer selbständig und zog 1987 nach Süd-Florida. Sein ältester Sohn lebt mit der Familie in Atlanta. Sein jüngster Sohn wurde 1996 in Houston, Texas ermordet. 2008 besuchte er zum ersten Mal den Friedhof Weißensee, auf dem seine Großmutter Helene Epstein begraben ist.

Daniel Hakerem

wurde 1951 in Haifa, Israel geboren. Als Sohn deutscher Einwanderer wurde er „typisch deutsch“ erzogen. Seine Muttersprache ist Deutsch, erst in der Schule lernte er Hebräisch. 1959 reiste er als Achtjähriger das erste Mal zu seiner Großmutter nach Berlin, die dort zusammen mit ihrem Mann durch die Hilfe von Freunden die Nazi-Zeit überlebt hatte. Bei dieser Reise lernte Daniel Hakerem auch den Friedhof Weißensee kennen, der ihn „wegen der großen Bäume“ sehr beeindruckte. Seine Großmutter Anna Katz starb 1969 in West-Berlin und wurde neben ihrem Mann Alexander in Weißensee beigesetzt. 1974 zog Daniel Hakerem mit seiner Frau Jochi nach Deutschland und studierte Medizin in Marburg/Lahn. Seine beiden Töchter Nurit und Efrat sind dort geboren. Nach dem Studium kehrte die Familie nach Israel zurück, wo Daniel Hakerem bis heute als Arzt tätig ist.

Gabriella Naidu

wurde 1950 in Sorengo bei Lugano geboren und wuchs dort mit drei Brüdern auf. Ihr Vater war italienische Schuhdesigner, die Mutter Fremdsprachenkorrespondentin. 1960 zog die Familie nach Zürich, wo Gabriella Naidu später eine Ausbildung zur Handarbeitslehrerin absolvierte und seitdem in diesem Beruf arbeitet. Ihr Urgroßvater Adolf Schwabacher war Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts Direktor der Berliner Börse und hat sich und seiner Familie mit dem Erbbegräbnis Nummer 222 auf dem Friedhof Weißensee ein stattliches Grabmal errichten lassen. Keiner in der Familie wusste, dass die Anlage noch existierte, bis Gabriella Naidu das unversehrte Grab vor einigen Jahren wiederentdeckte. Im Frühjahr 2011 wurde es im Auftrag von Gabriellas Onkel restauriert.

Hintergrund

Der Jüdische Friedhof Berlin-Weißensee

Auf dem Plan sieht er aus wie ein Garten der Renaissance: Eine Geometrie von Rechteck, Trapez und Dreieck. Die Alleen kreuzen sich in Kreisen und Quadraten. Aber wer die Anlage betritt, fühlt sich wie an einem verwunschenen Ort. Morgentau und Nebel, hohe Bäume, Dickicht. Dazwischen Säulen, Steine, Mausoleen, Efeu, Flieder und von rechts ein kleiner Fuchs – der Jüdische Friedhof in Weißensee. 

weiter lesen…

Es ist der dritte, der von der Jüdischen Gemeinde Berlins angelegt wurde. Knapp 130 Jahre ist er alt und der größte jüdische Friedhof in Europa, auf dem noch bestattet wird. Etwa 86 Fußballfelder hätten dort Platz. Wenn man über den Friedhof geht, spaziert man wie durch ein Geschichtsbuch. Lang ist die Liste berühmter Künstler, Philosophen, Juristen, Architekten, Ärzte, Religionslehrer und Verleger, die dort beerdigt sind. Die Kaufhausgründer Jandorf (KaDeWe) und Hermann Tietz (Hertie) gehören dazu, der Maler Lesser Ury, der Hotelier Kempinski, der Verleger Samuel Fischer (S. Fischer Verlag) und Rudolf Mosse, dem einst das größte Verlagshaus Europas gehörte.

Als erster wurde kein Berühmter begraben, sondern am 22. September 1880 Louis Grünbaum, der Bewohner eines Altersheims. Auf seinem Grabstein steht an der Seite eine große „1“. Dass der Stein noch steht, liegt daran, dass ein jüdischer Friedhof für die Ewigkeit angelegt wird. Die Gräber werden nicht eingeebnet, Liegefristen gibt es nicht. Auf jedem Grabstein in Weißensee findet sich eine fortlaufende Nummer, die frischen Gräber haben sechsstellige Zahlen.

Über 115.000 Menschen sind auf dem Friedhof in Weißensee bestattet. Einfache Steine stehen neben prächtigen Mausoleen aus der Zeit des Jugendstil oder Art-Deco. Einige Grabmale sind von den Bauhaus-Architekten Mies van der Rohe und Walter Gropius entworfen. Manche wirken verspielt, viele rühren mit ihren Inschriften, andere beeindrucken durch ihre Monumentalität. Doch so unterschiedlich das Budget einst gewesen sein muss, das für die Grabgestaltung zur Verfügung stand, so sehr gleichen sich die Gräber heute: eingestürzt, zugewachsen, vergessen. Kaum ein Lichtstrahl dringt im Sommer durch die riesigen Baumkronen auf die Gräber. Manche Wege sind so verwuchert, als wäre seit Jahren kein Mensch mehr bis zu den Grabstellen vorgedrungen.

Angehörige, die die Gräber pflegen könnten, gibt es kaum. Die Shoa hat nicht nur das Leben von Millionen Menschen vernichtet, sondern auch das Andenken an sie geraubt. In Berlin lebten in den 1930er Jahren rund 170.000 Juden, nach Kriegsende waren es nur noch 1.500. 

Das Besondere ist: Weißensee ist nie geschlossen worden. Der Friedhof gehörte zu der Handvoll jüdischer Institutionen in Deutschland, die auch während der Nazizeit in jüdischer Selbstverwaltung blieben. In Weissensee spielten jüdische Kinder, als es auf den deutschen Straßen zu gefährlich für sie wurde. Hier naschten sie Pflaumen und Aprikosen von wilden Obstbäumen. Einzelne Juden versteckten sich für ein paar Nächte in frisch ausgehobenen Grüften oder dem Kapitell eines Grabmals vor ihren Verfolgern. Unter Rabbiner Riesenburger fanden auch in der Zeit zwischen 1933 und 1945 immer Beerdigungen statt – alle nach jüdischem Brauch, bis auf die Tatsache, dass Riesenburger und seine verbliebenen Mitarbeiter die einzigen waren, die den Sarg zur Grabstelle begleiten konnten. 

Was aus den Berliner Juden wurde, erzählen manche Gräber: Steine, auf denen Eltern samt ihren Kindern dasselbe Todesdatum haben, deuten auf Freitod hin. Andere Grabsteine halten noch immer Platz für Namen von Menschen, die dort nie beerdigt werden konnten. Manchmal erfahren wir mehr: An Familiengräbern steht hin und wieder der Zusatz: „Im Gedenken an …“ 

Am Rande der Hauptstadt der DDR gelegen, rückte der Friedhof nach dem Krieg immer mehr in Vergessenheit. Der kleinen Ost-Berliner Gemeinde war es nicht möglich, den sich ausbreitenden Urwald in Weißensee zu beherrschen. In ihrer Hilflosigkeit entschied sich die Verwaltung damals den größten Teil des Friedhofs der Natur zu überlassen, um Kraft und Mittel wenigstens für einige repräsentative Felder im Eingangsbereich zu haben, auf denen noch bestattet wurde. Seit der deutschen Einheit versuchen die Mitarbeiter des Friedhofes Stück für Stück die einzelnen Felder des Friedhofes zurück zu erobern. 

Die Jüdische Gemeinde zu Berlin ist heute mit mehr als 12.000 Mitgliedern die größte jüdische Gemeinde in Deutschland. Nach Aussagen des American Jewish Committee ist sie die derzeit am schnellsten wachsende jüdische Gemeinschaft weltweit. Dies liegt an der Zuwanderung von russischen Juden in den letzten Jahren. Mittlerweile sind über 80 Prozent der Gemeindemitglieder eingewanderte Juden aus den ehemaligen Sowjetrepubliken. Die Bräuche und Traditionen der Angehörigen, mitgebracht aus der alten Heimat, sind das jüngste und spannungsreiche Kapitel von Weißensee.

Was wir auf dem Friedhof finden, ist jüdische Geschichte, die zugleich Berliner und deutsche Geschichte ist – abgeschlossen ist sie nicht.

Anmerkungen der Regisseurin

Mehr als 115.000 Verstorbenen mit ihren Schicksalen und Angehörigen in einem Film gerecht zu werden, ist mehr als eine Herausforderung. Den Anspruch vollständig zu sein, kann so ein Film nicht haben. Eine Aufzählung von großen Namen, eine Aneinanderreihung von Lebensleistungen oder trauriger Todesfälle machen keinen sehenswerten Film. Doch den hat Weißensee verdient.  

weiter lesen…

Nicht Grabanlagen, Efeu und Kieselsteine sollen die Leinwand füllen, sondern Menschen, die uns vom reichhaltigen Leben erzählen, das einst in Berlin zu Hause war. Mir geht es um persönliche Verbindungen. Die Idee war, einige wenige Schicksale herauszugreifen und die Protagonisten, die auf persönliche Weise mit den Verstorbenen verbunden sind, erzählen zu lassen. Menschen mit ihren Erinnerungen, Gefühlen und Gedanken stehen im Mittelpunkt. Sie sollen in dem Film die Hauptrolle spielen, dem Zuschauer begreiflich machen, was an Weißensee so kostbar ist. Naturgemäß überschattet die Zeit der Nazidiktatur alle anderen Ereignisse. Doch der Film will sich nicht darauf beschränken, Todesfälle aus jenen Jahren zu erzählen. Die Toten in Weißensee nur auf ihr trauriges Ende zu reduzieren, wäre falsch. Viele der dort Begrabenen haben Außergewöhnliches vollbracht, etwas Besonderes geleistet oder Kurioses erlebt. Der Film will auch komische, absurde und nachdenkliche Geschichten erzählen und von einer große Liebe berichten – einer ohne Happy End.

Termine

Datum Ort Kino Uhrzeit Ticket
20. Okt Überlingen Kulturbahnhof Nussdorf - Die Rampe
Im Rahmen der Jüdischen Kulturtage / Eintritt frei / Spenden erwünscht
16:00 + 18:00 Kulturbahnhof Nussdorf

Shop

Buch

Bei den Recherchen über den Friedhof Weißensee kam Britta Wauer in Kontakt mit zahlreichen Angehörigen aus aller Welt. Hunderte Briefe aus Neuseeland, Kanada, Argentinien, Südafrika, Israel und vielen anderen Ländern erreichten sie, prallgefüllt mit Familienfotos und bewegenden Schicksalen. Nur ein Bruchteil davon fand Platz im Film. So entstand die Idee dieses Buches, das mehr als 70 Geschichten vereint. Der Bildband zeigt historische Fotografien aus Archiven und Privatbesitz; sie sind aktuellen Aufnahmen der Fotografin Amélie Losier gegenüber gestellt.

Britta Wauer: 
Der Jüdische Friedhof Weißensee. 
Momente der Geschichte 
mit Fotografien von Amélie Losier
und einem Nachwort von Hermann Simon

Über 140 Fotografien,
mit Texten in Deutsch und Englisch
erschienen im be.bra Verlag Berlin

24,95 EUR
im Handel erhältlich

» amazon.de 
» bebra.verlag.de

Im Himmel, unter der Erde. DVD-Cover © Britzka Film

DVD

IM HIMMEL, UNTER DER ERDE
Der jüdische Friedhof Weißensee

mehr

Mit englischen Untertiteln

Ein Film von Britta Wauer
Laufzeit 90 min
Sprache: deutsche Originalfassung
Untertitel: Englisch
Extras: Booklet, Audiodeskription für Sehbehinderte
Edition Salzgeber
FSK: freigegeben ab 6 Jahren


im Handel erhältlich
» amazon.de 
» delicatessen.org
» jpc.de

DVD

jetzt neu: RABBI WOLFF
Der Film über den Publikumsliebling aus
"Im Himmel, unter der Erde"

mehr

Der neue Film von Britta Wauer mit Rabbiner William Wolff zeigt den turbulenten Alltag des Publikumslieblings aus
"Im Himmel, unter der Erde"
Mit englischen und russischen Untertiteln

 

Ein Film von Britta Wauer
Laufzeit 91 min + Bonusmaterial
Sprache: deutsch-englische Originalfassung
Untertitel: Englisch, Russisch, Deutsch für Hörgeschädigte
Extras: Booklet, Audiodeskription für Sehbehinderte, Deleted Scenes, Kinotrailer
Edition Salzgeber
FSK: freigegeben ab 0 Jahren

im Handel erhältlich
» amazon.de 
» delicatessen.org


Im Himmel, unter der Erde. CD-Cover © Britzka Film

CD

Original Soundtrack
IM HIMMEL, UNTER DER ERDE
komponiert von Karim Sebastian Elias

mehr

Die Filmmusik komponiert von Karim Sebastian Elias, eingespielt vom Brandenburgischen Staatsorchestor Frankfurt unter der Leitung von Jörg Iwer ist erschienen bei Alhambra Records.

im Handel erhältlich
» amazon.de 

Kontakt

Deutscher Filmverleih

Edition Salzgeber
Prinzessinnenstraße 29
10969 Berlin
Germany

salzgeber.de

Verleih Nordamerika

7th Art Releasing
6579 Pickwick Street
Los Angeles, CA 90042
USA

7thart.com

Filmproduzentin

Britzka Film - Britta Wauer
Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 30
10178 Berlin
Germany

britzka.com

Credits

Credits

IM HIMMEL, UNTER DER ERDE
mit Rabbiner William Wolff, Harry Kindermann, Ron Kohls, Gabriella Naidu, Reinhard Männe, Familie Pobbig-Schulz, Hermann Simon, Alfred Etzold, Benny Epstein, Daniel Hakerem, Ronnie Golz, Michaela Panske, Gesine Sturm, Lev Tabachnik u.a.

Buch und Regie: Britta Wauer
Kamera: Kaspar Köpke
Montage: Berthold Baule
Ton: Felix Heibges, Garip Özdem
Tongestaltung: Sebastian Tesch
Tonmischung: Martin Grube
Musik: Karim Sebastian Elias
Einspielung: Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester; Frankfurt
Regieassistenz / Aufnahmeleitung: Jana Westmann
Standfotografie : Amélie Losier
Redaktion: Dagmar Mielke (RBB/ARTE), Birgit Mehler (RBB), Hans-Günther Brüske (SR)
Produktionsleitung RBB: Rainer Baumert
Herstellungsleitung: Karsten Aurich
Produzentin: Britta Wauer

Eine Gemeinschaftsproduktion von Britzka Film
mit dem Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg und dem Saarländischen Rundfunk
in Zusammenarbeit mit Arte

Mit Unterstützung durch
Stiftung Neue Synagoge Berlin – Centrum Judaicum
Familie-Guter-Molvidson-Stiftung
Ursula-Lachnit-Fixson-Stiftung

Produktion gefördert durch Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg
und den Deutschen Filmförderfonds

Im Verleih der Edition Salzgeber

Impressum

Impressum

Britzka Film - Britta Wauer Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße 30 10178 Berlin – Germany
Finanzamt Mitte-Tiergarten von Berlin USt-ID DE 240097612
T: +49.30.247 245 24 E: film@britzka.de www.britzka.de
Inhaltlich Verantwortlicher gemäß § 6 MDStV: Britta Wauer

Copyright
© Britzka Film, alle Rechte vorbehalten. Alle Bilder, Texte und Grafiken auf dieser Webseite unterliegen dem Schutz des Urheberrechts und anderer Schutzgesetze.

Haftungsauschluss
Der Autor übernimmt keinerlei Gewähr für die Aktualität, Korrektheit, Vollständigkeit oder Qualität der bereitgestellten Informationen. Der Autor behält es sich ausdrücklich vor, Teile der Seiten oder das gesamte Angebot ohne gesonderte Ankündigung zu verändern, zu ergänzen, zu löschen oder die Veröffentlichung zeitweise oder endgültig einzustellen. Trotz sorgfältiger inhaltlicher Kontrolle übernehmen wir keine Haftung für die Inhalte externer Links. Für den Inhalt der verlinkten Seiten sind ausschließlich deren Betreiber verantwortlich.